The Wheels of Justice Move Slowly

In my last post, I said the court case against the one accused in the death of our son was set to resume that week (April 2). It didn’t. June 5 has been set as the next court date.

There is a strange bond between the perpetrator and victim in a crime. It’s not voluntary or pleasant, but it is there. What happens in this case intimately affects us. We no longer have our son to talk to, to be involved with. It’s pitiful in a way, but following the court case in regard to his death is the closest we can come to having a tangible, ongoing involvement with our son. So when we come home from a court date that turns out to be a non-event and the case is postponed yet again, it’s troubling. We don’t really expect the outcome of the case to provide “satisfaction”, just settlement. And it’s still unfinished business.

For now, then, since we live in a country where a person is innocent until proven guilty — and I’m grateful we do — I won’t publish my thoughts on the court proceedings. I will say that despite this delay, I’ve been thoroughly impressed with the police investigation, their keeping in contact with us, the prosecution’s scrupulous attention to detail and, court date postponements notwithstanding, the whole justice system in general. I’m aware that this is not the perspective we hear much of but it has been our experience. I suspect when someone has been a victim of a crime, they feel like lashing out at whoever crosses their path and those in the justice system receive the brunt of it.

In the meantime, we serve a God who has all things under His control and that brings me contentment.

                “But as for me, I trust in You, O Lord; I say, ‘You are my God.’ My times are in Your hand.”  Psalm 31:14, 15

This entry was posted in Court and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

